The Kandiyohi County Jail provides for the safe, secure and humane detention of offenders in Kandiyohi County.
To fulfill this responsibility, the Kandiyohi County Jail shall follow the standards established by the Minnesota Department of Corrections, Minnesota State Statutes, and the United States Constitution.
We are committed to the following principles
The Kandiyohi County Jail is an integral part of the criminal justice system. We strive to cooperate with other agencies, promote mutual respect, and welcome community involvement. We are a credit to our profession and source of pride to our county.
The Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Office has video visitation for inmate visits. The visitor will come to the lobby of the jail and go into a booth that contains a video monitor and phone handset. The prisoner has the same equipment in the pod area that he/she is housed. This system saves correctional officers time as the correctional officers do not have to physically move prisoners to the visiting rooms. This also allows more visiting time as you can see by the hours listed below.
The hours for our Video Visitation are as follows:
· Visitation will be held daily (Monday – Sunday) including weekends and holidays, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m., with the exception of the following times daily: 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.; 4:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. No Visits on Friday after 4:30 p.m.
· Each inmate will be allowed 30 minutes of visitation per day.
· Extended visitation hours for the Department of Corrections inmates is on Saturdays and Sundays.
All adult visitors (18 years and older) must provide a valid ID. Any person on probation must complete an application and submit it to the Jail prior to visitation. It is important to completely fill out the application and answer all questions honestly. Falsifying an application will result in the applicant being banned from the correctional facility for a period of six months. If you have questions regarding the visitation application, call 320-214-6700, ext. 3670 or email email@example.com.
ANYONE UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE MUST BE ESCORTED BY THEIR PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN. Prior to the day of visiting, a copy of each minor’s state/county certified birth certificate (not the hospital copy) must be presented to confirm identification before the minor will be allowed to visit. If children are escorted by an adult other than their parent or legal guardian, a signed and notarized authorization by the child’s parent(s) must accompany the birth certificate.
Jail Visitation-Registration Form - Microsoft Word Format
Jail Visitation-Registration Form - Adobe Acrobat PDF Format
Juvenile Parental Permission Form – Microsoft Word Format
Juvenile Parental Permission Form – Adobe Acrobat PDF Format
MONEY DROP OFF:
To drop off money for an inmate, please come to the entrance of the Kandiyohi County Jail and follow into the building. There is a money Kiosk that accepts bills only, no coins can be accepted. This money will be applied to the Inmates account immediately. Money can also be placed on accounts online at www.inmatecanteen.com.
PAY FOR STAY:
Pay for Stay is a fee that is charged for any “time” that an inmate does in jail once they are SENTENCED. When an inmate returns to the jail to begin their jail time, they will sign a form acknowledging that they understand that there will be a fee or $20.00 per day for every day that they are in jail. There is an option of paying at the end of their jail time at a 20% discount if it is paid in full within seven days of release. After the seven day grace period, it is then turned over to a collection agency.
Offenders that are given the privilege of Huber- Work Release MUST meet with Program Staff prior to starting their jail time. Any inmate that does not report prior to beginning their sentence will be held in until employment and paperwork are verified and completed. You may contact Program Staff at 320-214-6700 X3616 or x3627, Monday through Friday.
Bail may be posted by coming to the front lobby of the jail. Request to speak with the Sergeant on duty, as they will then begin the process of paperwork. Bail must be in the form of cash or money order (no personal checks or credit cards will be accepted). You may also utilize a Bail Bondsman if that is an option of the court order. Bail bonds are located in the telephone book in the yellow pages under Bail Bonds.
INMATE RELEASE TIMES:
Sentenced inmates are released at 9:00 am on his/her outdate. They can be picked up in the front lobby of the jail anytime after 9:00 am. Please note that they may not get out right at that time. Please be patient with our release process.
ATTORNEY/PROBATION APPOINTMENTS:Professional visits are requested by contacting the Program Staff and requesting to meet with an inmate. All visits will be non-contact unless otherwise approved. By setting up an appointment we can assist you better with a fast and efficient meeting with your client. To contact Program Staff, please call 320-214-6700 x3616, x3632, or x3633. We will work with you on a time to come in to visit your client but we request that you understand that we have necessary lockdowns for formal counts for inmates.
JAIL ADDRESS FOR WRITING TO AN INMATE:
To write to an inmate or send money (money order or cashier's check only)
Follow the example below:
NOTE: All inmate mail is screened daily with the exception of legal mail.
WHAT TO BRING WHEN REPORTING TO JAIL TO DO TIME:
We request that you bring as little with you as possible. Body piercing jewelry, earrings, rings, keys, etc. would be better kept at home. If you take any prescription medications we ask that you bring it in a prescription bottle. If you are coming in for Huber or Community Service work while you are in jail, we ask that you follow the informational sheet that is given to you at the time of meeting with Program Staff.
Public Fingerprinting is available daily for a $10.00 per Individual charge between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. with the exception of the following times daily: 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.; 4:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. No fingerprinting is done on Fridays after 4:30 p.m. The agency requesting the Fingerprints will supply fingerprint cards. Please bring a valid ID, and $10 cash, as checks are not accepted. We do not have change so bring the correct amount.
We do not accept phone calls for inmates. Only emergency messages will be relayed. To set up pre-payment for telephone calls, you can call the Reliance Telephone company at 800-896-3201, or you can purchase pre-paid phone cards online at www.reliancetelephone.com or www.inmatecanteen.com. Inmates may also purchase phone cards through the canteen system.
WHAT HAS BEEN TAKING PLACE IN OUR JAIL?