Human Services Home Page Family Child Care Home Page Finding Child Care Choosing a Provider and the Next Steps Becoming a Licensed Child Care Provider
Provider Licensing Provider Rules and Regulations Provider Training Provider Forms and Guides Education and Activities

Provider Licensing                          Contact Family Child Care Licensing
It is the responsibility of Kandiyohi County Health and Human Services to license any home where care is being provided for more than one unrelated family.  The licensing process includes orientation, background studies and in-home visits to check safety requirements have been met before making a recommendation for licensure.

Family Child Care:  The Family Child Care Licensure program governs licensure of providers of child care in a setting other than a child care center, usually the provider’s residence, for fewer than 24 hours per day.

Family child care is licensed under the Minnesota Department of Human Services Rule 2 (Licensing of Family Child Care Facilities). The rule addresses, among other requirements: licensing of homes for family child care and group family child care, licensing process, negative licensing actions, agency records, caregiver qualifications, licensed capacity, child/adult ratios, age distribution requirements, age distribution restrictions, reporting agency, day care training, behavior guidance, admissions, provider records, reporting, activities and equipment, physical environment, sanitation and health, water, food and nutrition. Rule 2Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 – Licensure of Family Child Care Facilities - Family and Group Family Child Care.

Child care centers:  Center based child care licensure has set standards for the licensing of child care centers including programs that provide child care, preschool/nursery programs, Head Start programs, night care, drop-in and sick care for fewer than 24 hours a day in a setting that is not a residence. For complete requirements, see Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 (DHS Rule 3) and Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 245A and 245C.

Licensing New Providers:  If you are interested in learning how to become a licensed child care provider in Kandiyohi County, you must  attend one of the following three-hour orientation meetings to begin the licensing process.

2014 Orientation Meeting Schedule
Location: Kandiyohi County Health and Human Services Building, (Conference Room 2075) 2200 23rd Street NE, Willmar MN 56201. 

Date     Time
Wednesday, January 22   1-4 p.m.
Wednesday, March 12   1-4 p.m.
Wednesday, May 14   1-4 p.m.
Wednesday, July 16   1-4 p.m.
Wednesday, September 17   1-4 p.m.
Wednedsay, November 12   1-4 p.m.

 
Relicensing
First-time relicensing: A provider’s first license is a one-year license. When you have been licensed for nine months, you will receive a packet of forms in the mail to start the relicensing process. 

Contact Us

Kandiyohi County
Health and Human Services 

2200 23 Str. NE, Ste. 1020
Willmar, MN 56201

Phone: (320) 231-7800
Toll Free: (877) 464-7800
For people unable to hear:  (320) 231-7076   V/TDD 

 Links

Frequently Asked Questions

Rule 2Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0300 to 9502.0445 – Licensure of Family Child Care Facilities - Family and Group Family Child Care

Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 (DHS Rule 3) 

Minnesota Rules, parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 (DHS Rule 3)